Trying something new.


It’s been nearly 6 months now since I have last drawn and am thinking that the lack of exercising my outlet is starting to set a strain on me. However, I have no inspiration. I look at my sketchbook and pencils and pens and just can’t seem to pick them up and put anything to use.

I have been quite busy lately, but that’s just an excuse. What we prioritize is really whats important to us, and in like mind, there have been other things that have been more important to me lately, but my neglect is beginning to show. When I would draw, I had a creative outlet that was neither right or wrong, it just was. And this outlet gave my soul room to pour out what it harbors so that the daily could pour in and I could process it better. Two nights now in a row of 1 to 2 hours of sleep: One or two nights a week is one thing (a problem in and of itself) but two nights in a row – maybe its the sleep deprivation speaking, but that’s just too damn much!

With no inspiration and much desperation, I came up with an idea – but I need YOUR HELP! I need ideas. You’ve seen the scenes and things I enjoy drawing, so send me your Topical Challenges. I’d love to see what ideas you’d have for me to draw. Don’t let me box your creativity in, but allow me to guide you a bit. Here’s the guidelines for submitting ideas:

  • One word category – the more vague the better (TRAFFIC would be better than TRAFFIC LIGHT for example, but don’t let than hinder your idea)
  • Specify your preferred media (pen/ink, pencil, color pencil)
  • Be mindful that the more specific you are, the less creative I can be – and vice versa
  • Your submissions are valued and appreciated, but subject to my modifications and timeline :)

Have fun! I hope to see a lot of submissions!

This entry was published on July 11, 2012 at 10:52 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Trying something new.

  1. Hmmmmm, water.

  2. Err, light? Or is it too late? By the way, I just discovered your blog and I love your sketchbook, I hope you’ll post again :)

    • Thanks so much! I’ve been quite busy lately and really want to make the time to sketch. Hopefully I’ll have some time this weekend…

      btw, love the “light” idea! Maybe incorporate water in it; water & light.

Leave a Reply

