The Gift


This was one of my gifts to my lovely Staceface. I didn’t want to just give her a Visa giftcard and explain what I wanted her to be able to do with it, I wanted to be more creative than that. Since reclaiming a large portion of my time throughout the week, we have discussed what to do and one of them has been the projects we can start on in our new home.

This is the first attempt at water colors for me. Ever. Well, maybe not ever-ever. When I was young I did have those 8 color Crayola water color sets that came with that red plastic #4 round brush with sable bristles. I don’t remember doing anything other than muddying up the paints and making a mess – oh, and having a little fun. I started this 4×6″ waterpaper card with pencil then traced .05 and .005 Sakura Pigma Micron pens and finished it up with my Windsor and Newton Cotman field set. The stamps were the final medium touched up with the Sakura Pigma Microns. The scene is from my living room, looking toward the dining area with the laundry room/hallway.

The dining room from the living room view as it stands. It wasn’t a well staged shot – it was taken in haste so that I could get the post underway. Busy Christmas season this year.

This entry was published on December 27, 2011 at 11:26 pm. It’s filed under Favorites, On Location, Pen and Ink, Stamping, Water Color and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “The Gift

  1. Very cool son. I’m looking forward to the progress.

  2. lovely present! i’m really curious about what it’s gonna look like

  3. kianys on said:

    very sweet gift – the intention and the presentation – glad your sister featured you :) K.

Leave a Reply

